Independent outlook /// Hard-Fi “Killer Sounds” (CD, 2011)

Hard-Fi have been around since 2005 when they released their highly-successful debut album “Stars of CCTV”. It was followed by “Once Upon a Time in the West” (2007) and the band’s latest effort “Killer Sounds” (2011). All the albums reached # 1 in UK charts.

The title “Killer Sounds” in a way sums up the whole essence of the record  consisting of  indie tunes with a huge dance flavour and easy, nonchalant air. It’s full of the atmosphere of a city with a good amount of sarcasm, humour and freedom. The sound has remained diverse and very unique with the special attitude typical of Hard-Fi which makes them stand out, but at the same time the band have moved on to a newer level and newer grounds adding some new instruments and findings to the songs.

“Killer Sounds” is a relaxed and, as a result, a relaxing album. The spontaneous, light and spicy record is highly catchy and pleasant in its essence. Various moods and shifts in sound make it diverse and thus thrilling to discover all the hidden treasures song by song, note by note.

“Killer Sounds” marked the return of Hard-Fi after a four-year silence since the release of “Once Upon a Time in the West” and once again the musicians showed how interesting and different they can make any of their albums getting it noticed and memorable.


01. Good For Nothing
02. Fire In The House
03. Give It Up
04. Bring It On
05. Feels Good
06. Stop
07. Stay Alive
08. Excitement
09. Love Song
10. Sweat
11. Killer Sounds

Related blog: Song of the day /// Hard-Fi “Fire in the House”

2 Responses to “Independent outlook /// Hard-Fi “Killer Sounds” (CD, 2011)”
  1. thereviewer says:

    Cracking album. Hard-Fi should be celebrated, real talent, something a bit different. You’re right, Killer Sounds says it all. Shame Manchester Ritz gig was called off other day when I went to see them.

Have a say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: