Rock classics /// The Rolling Stones “Get Off My Cloud”

“Don’t hang around ’cause two’s a crowd in my cloud, baby” 

The Rolling Stones (“Get Off My Cloud”, 1965)

After the release of “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” The Rolling Stones’ popularity raised instantly and made them absolute super stars. Naturally, everyone was expecting a bomb similar to “Satisfaction”  afterwards. But The Rolling Stones reacted differently and their reaction was “Get Off My Cloud”. It was written by Keith Richards and Mick Jagger and recorded in September 1965.  Sarcastic, rebellious and bold, “Get Off My Cloud” was some kind of a protest against the band’s instant popularity and high expectations of the follow-up to “Satisfaction”. Between the lines there is a hint at everyone to mind their own business and leave the band in peace… Bad boys The Rolling Stones in action.

Comments
6 Responses to “Rock classics /// The Rolling Stones “Get Off My Cloud””
  1. thereviewer says:

    I like their attitude and mentality, very brave for those days, separated them from the crowd, or should I say cloud? You have knowledge beyond your years, and compose written prose which belies your nationality, I’m very impressed 🙂

  2. thereviewer says:

    sparkling written prose* I meant to say

  3. Jamie says:

    The Stones were never one of my favourite bands as a teenager, I couldn’t stand Jagger!
    But they’ve made some great sounds over the years.

Have a say

