Song Of The Day /// Placebo “Pure Morning”

Today I’m feeling a bit nostalgic and have decided to remember how I was introduced to rock music. The first rock band that started converting me to rock was Placebo and it all began in 1998. Back then MTV was airing “Pure Morning” quite a lot and my initial reaction was a bit of ignoring and a sense of alienation from the band, but still the mysterious sounds, vocals and the obscure video couldn’t leave my mind. I was more into pop back then, but still with only one song Placebo managed to draw my attention and captivate me somehow thus forming the ground for the future. After the first introduction to “Pure Morning”, however, I didn’t get back to Placebo’s music until 2006 when I was already  into punk rock and alternative. “Black Market Music” was the main album of the end of 2006-the beginning of 2007 for me and it led to my seeing Placebo live in 2007 which was the first proper rock show I saw live. Two most vivid memories of that gig for me even nowadays are the energy of the band and the mosh pit I found myself involved in. Though the mosh pit was purely accidental and I escaped the hell of it after a couple of songs, the energy of Placebo still did what they were supposed to and it was to blow my mind.

Now, looking back, I feel a bit sorry sometimes that I wasted the whole 8 years in between 1998 and 2006 when I was trying to find my music and my bands, dashing from pop to r&b and then finally to rock, but at the same time it was the period of growing up and maturing as a person and Placebo played a major role in this process. That’s why this band is one of the dearest to me nowadays – somebody, whose gigs are always one of the most highly-anticipated, whose songs still hold a great wisdom, power and sarcasm that I need a lot in my life.

Comments
3 Responses to “Song Of The Day /// Placebo “Pure Morning””
  1. Awesome post. Yeah, I remember my sister used to listen to this song all the time when it came out, but I was too young to really get into it… or any rock music, really. And then I randomly put the album on a few months ago and realized that the whole album is actually really good.

    My first “real” show was back in 2007, as well – Interpol. Now, a couple hundred shows later, I really miss how new it felt to see one of my favorite bands live.

    • rockmelody says:

      Thank you! 🙂
      I know what you mean. I think I also was a bit too young to understand it and get into it. But it’s always better late than never.
      Definitely. It was so new back then. Now.. It’s different. But I also like the feeling as it is something more thoughtful and deeper felt when you know the band as if they were your good friends 🙂

  2. iamkaja says:

    I have never really been into placebo myself, although there’s no denying they’re fantastic! His eyes…… :O

Have a say

