In their words /// Oxford Coast on ‘Lone Wolf’

Oxford Coast

Lone Wolf was inspired by a personal relationship I had a couple of years ago. The first half of the song (with the ‘only girl in the crowd with flowers in her hair’ lyric) had been around for a few years but I’d never been able to come up with a good chorus for it. I then started seeing this girl (who amazingly actually did wear flowers in her hair) and when we went our separate ways I was inspired to write the melody and lyrics for the second half of the song. I hadn’t originally intended to play it with the first half but when I tried them out together they seemed to fit really well. After I’d combined the two parts I knew what the song was trying to say and what I wanted it to sound like, so the rest just fell into place.

The song is a tribute to that person who is only in your life for a fleeting moment, but they leave you feeling inspired and invigorated. It’s a tribute to the free spirit that you can’t tie down. It’s a tribute to that elusive girl I once met with flowers in her hair.

by Oxford Coast

Find Oxford Coast on Facebook

Have a say

