Saturday playlist /// 11.07.2015

Queen

My music taste is universally known as diverse to serious extremes. One day you can spot me at a gig being all hipster-like and enjoying good old synth pop, and another –  find me rocking out to hard-hitting alternative rock. While it’s a mystery even to me why such taste discrepancies are even legit, I still enjoy the variety and simply adjust my playlist to my changeable-as-English-weather music mood. Let’s get extreme then.
Queen
Queen’s ‘Innuendo’ was where my classic rock education started. I had a cassette which I used to listen to with my old tape recorder when I wasn’t busy with pop music comprising the basis of my music diet at that time. Queen mesmerised me the very moment I heard them. I still get those goosebumps and a tear in my eye when I hear the opening of ‘The Show Must Go On’. It was the first track I heard and thus the one that cast the Queen spell on me. Queen were my first classic rock band that later led me to discover the likes of Led Zeppelin, David Bowie and generally became the first step to developing a finer music taste.

Biffy Clyro
Biffy’s energy and unique approach to making music simply couldn’t leave me indifferent. I fell in love with them the moment  ‘Toys, Toys, Toys, Choke, Toys, Toys, Toys’ caught my ear and have been their happy devotee ever after. Burning desire and great skill in penning songs different, unpredictable and authentic make Biffy Clyro a mystery which is next to impossible to solve.  The fact that they can be neither pinned down nor put in a box of some particular genre makes this band a pure music treasure. Add to this bucketfuls of honesty and passion Biffy put into their music and you’ll get modern rock heroes with a lot to say.
Placebo
Oh, I do love myself a sharp-tongued band who present a challenge to the whole world. Long time ago Placebo became my guide into the world of alternative rock. My taste in music was undergoing a drastic change and this wonderful trio’s songs built the basis of my first alternative playlist. Their damn-you-all-to-hell attitude and poisonous rebellion in music have always fascinated me. And after all how is it possible to resist these edgy, intricate melodies that send shivers down your spine?
Editors
There are times when I want mystery, intensity and a getting-under-your-skin voice in my ears. These days are most likely Editors days. Their dark tunes are intriguing to the point of enchantment which, in tandem with Tom Smith’s deep, velvet vocals, comprise my ultimate music pleasure. Perfect night-time listen and one of the absolutely best live bands I’ve ever seen.
Hurts
What first was a guilty pleasure which I, being a rock soul to the backbone, listened to only in the dead of night and when nobody was watching, turned into one of my favourite bands. I’m continuously attracted to Hurts’ elegance and sophistication, their images of true English gentlemen and beautiful, poetic songs. A touch of 80s and suits on the stage are still a breath of fresh air as nobody does 80s quite like Hurts do.
Comments
2 Responses to “Saturday playlist /// 11.07.2015”
  1. Zack says:

    I just got Placebo’s Once More With Feeling. I can’t wait to listen to it.

Have a say

